How this list was made
We read each tool's own pricing page, homepage or documentation on 29 October 2026 and wrote down what it says it makes, the languages it claims, what its free plan includes, whether the page lets free audio be used commercially, and what it says about cloning a voice. Where a page did not say, we say so. We did not judge how natural each voice sounds: that is a matter of ear and of language, and a short test of your own script tells you more than any list.
We do not print rivals' prices. They change by month, by country and by plan, and each page is linked in the sources with the date we read it. Clip-Short is in the list because we make it; it sits with the tools that make a whole video, and the section about it says what it does not do.
- 9tools checked, Clip-Short included
- 5state a free plan or free tier
- 3free plans not for commercial use
- 1site that no longer loads: PlayHT
The facts table
One row per tool, in alphabetical order, in its own words where it has them. The free plan column is what its pages showed on 29 October 2026. The cloning column is what the page says about making a voice from a recording.
| Tool | What it makes, in its own words | Free plan on 29 October 2026 | Languages it claims | Voice cloning |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clip-Short | A narrated, captioned short video from a written idea; the voice is part of the video | No free AI video: a pack of 3 Pro videos for US$5.99, paid once | 20 narration languages, Arabic in the dialect of the idea or Modern Standard Arabic | Your own voice only, from one recording, on paid plans |
| ElevenLabs | "Text to Speech with high quality, human-like AI voices" | Yes: 10,000 credits a month, personal and non-commercial, with attribution | "90+ languages" with Eleven v4 | Instant from Starter, Professional from Creator |
| Fliki | "Your AI partner for video creation" | Yes, "free forever": 3 credits a month, 5-minute exports, watermark | "over 80 languages in over 100 dialects" | On the Standard and Premium plans |
| Gemini API | Speech from text, with "the style, accent, pace, and tone" guided in words | Free tier: Flash TTS models "Free of charge" | "over 130 languages" for Gemini 3.8 Flash TTS | Voice design from a description; 30 prebuilt voices |
| InVideo AI | "The agentic video editor for serious creatives" | No free plan on the pricing page | Narration languages not stated | "Voice Cloning" listed as a tool, plans not stated |
| Murf | "200+ Voices across 35+ Languages" | Yes: 10 minutes of voice generation; downloads and a commercial licence only on paid plans | 35+ languages | "Clone your voice to create accurate voiceovers" |
| Speechify | A reader: "Listen to text aloud"; Studio: "The all-in-one Voice & Video Shop" | Reader: yes, with 10 voices; Studio: terms not stated | "60+ different languages" on Premium | Not mentioned on the pages we read |
| WellSaid | "Plans built for creators, teams, and enterprises" | Trial plan: 3 download minutes a month, no commercial rights | English voices on Starter and Pro; all languages on Enterprise, Arabic among them | Cloning not mentioned on the page |
Read the free plan column next to what each tool makes. A free plan that gives audio for personal use only is a way to hear the voices, not to narrate a channel. A tool whose output is a finished video saves the editing, but you take its pictures and captions with its voice.
PlayHT is not in the table: play.ht did not load for us on 29 October 2026, and Bloomberg reported on 11 July 2025 that Meta had acquired PlayAI, the company that made it. If your voices or projects were there, plan on another tool.
Which tools to try first, by what you need
Start from what you will do with the voice. A narrator for a YouTube video you edit yourself, a whole short video from a script, and speech inside an app you build are three different jobs.
- An audio file for any project: ElevenLabs, Murf and WellSaid make speech you download and place in your own editor. Check the commercial line first: on their free or trial plans, none of the three allows commercial use.
- A whole narrated video: Fliki, InVideo AI and Clip-Short put the voice inside a finished video with pictures and captions. Fliki states a free plan with a watermark; InVideo AI and Clip-Short show none for AI videos.
- Speech inside your own app: the Gemini API and ElevenLabs offer text-to-speech for developers. The Gemini API states a free tier for its Flash TTS models, 30 prebuilt voices and up to 2 speakers in one request.
- Listening and dubbing: Speechify reads text aloud in its app and has AI dubbing in its Studio; Murf has a dubbing product too. To dub a clip with a voice for each speaker, see our guide to dubbing videos.
Free to try is not free to publish
A voice you post on a monetized channel, an ad or a client's video is commercial use. Several free plans say plainly that they do not cover it, and the page that says so is the pricing page, not the homepage.
If a page does not mention commercial use on its free plan, do not assume it is allowed: ask the maker, or use a paid plan whose page states the licence.
- ElevenLabs: the free plan is for personal, non-commercial use with attribution; the commercial licence starts with its Starter plan.
- Murf: the free plan does not include a commercial licence, and its voices can only be downloaded on paid plans.
- WellSaid: the trial plan gives 3 download minutes a month with no commercial rights.
- Fliki: free exports carry a watermark, and its FAQ says subscriptions include a commercial licence to what you create.
Cloning a voice, and narrating in your own
Most audio tools let you clone a voice from recordings: ElevenLabs from its Starter plan, Murf, and Fliki on Standard and Premium. A cloned voice should be yours, or one whose owner has agreed in writing; using someone else's voice without that can break the tool's rules and the law.
Clip-Short narrates in your own voice and in no one else's. The voice is made from one recording: you read a sentence we show you with three random words in it, and the voice is kept only if the sentence and all three words were heard, so it can only be the voice of the person reading. Paid plans make up to 3 voices, which narrate in 13 of the 20 languages, in videos of up to 3 minutes. What it says carries an inaudible watermark that marks it as AI-made.
Where Clip-Short fits, and where it does not
Clip-Short is not an audio tool: the voice comes inside a short video. You write an idea or your own script; the AI writes the narration (or reads yours as written), makes the pictures, narrates with one of 23 voices in one of 20 languages, and adds captions that follow the words and music under them. The narrators are spoken by Google's Gemini text-to-speech. A finished video's narrator can be changed: every scene is voiced again, and Undo swaps back.
What it does not do: it gives no separate audio file, no voice of a real person other than your own, and no free AI video. AI videos start with a pack of 3 Pro videos for US$5.99, paid once, up to 3 minutes each; Pro videos run up to 10 minutes. For narration you place in your own editor, an audio tool from the table fits better.
Before you pick a voiceover tool
- Decide what you need at the end: an audio file, a finished video, or speech in your own app.
- Read the free plan's commercial-use line on the pricing page before you publish anything.
- Check that your language is claimed for speech, not only for captions or translation.
- Read the same script of your own in two or three tools and compare them by ear.
- Clone only your own voice, or one whose owner has agreed in writing.
